Caretaker/handyperson in SW France

FRANCE / Dr Hoof

We are looking for help end of August onwards.

This is an unusual assignment for our property in SW France.We plan to start a livery for barefoot horses and are looking for a trustworthy and caring mature couple or single person with no children or pets to help us get our property back into order and then help with the maintenance. If all went well this would be a longer term assignment.

You should have experience with painting and decorating and tidying up outside. Simple DIY in both the guest house and the main house, tidying up the outside areas: cutting back weeds and brambles, barrowing. Occasional help with some heavier work. Help with occasional cleaning in main house, dusting, hoovering etc.

We all need to be able to live on the property together and respect each others’ space. At the same time we hope that we could share some time together.

We both speak good French so could help you with that too if needed. The location is quiet but 10 minutes drive to nearest town. 3 mins drive or 40 mins walk to nearest bakery, café, post office etc. Lovely countryside, no very near neighbours but not completely isolated. The area is lovely with rolling hills, small market villages and towns and lots of walks. Toulouse is only an hour away for some city life, the Pyrenées are 2 hrs away and the Atlantic coast about 2 and a half hrs. A car can be available for you.

You will have your own house with 2 bedrooms (a third I use as a workshop and would need access to during the day) bathroom, lounge, kitchen,terrace, garden (needs attention). We live in the main house which is an old stone cottage we renovated. Internet access only in main house but you are very welcome to use it whenever you need.

You need the ability to work on tasks alone, using your own initiative and to your own time scale. For example we would outline the work which needed to be done and then you could decide when you wanted to tackle it. Howard will be off the property a lot during the day and back in the evenings. Polly will be here most of the time but will be fairly busy with our horses and running a couple of animal related businesses from home. You need to like big dogs as we have a German Shepherd, a Dobermann and a Breton Spaniel.

We would be especially keen on welcoming you if you can ride confidently. You can come out riding with us or learn about natural horsemanship and training and barefoot hoof care. We have 6 horses, 5 of whom are rideable.

We would be asking for on average 3 to 4 hours of work per day, but scheduled by yourself. So for example you might like to do half a day and then take time off or a bit each day, or a block of work then relax!

This assignment would suit people who are happy to exchange some work for accommodation (no salary) and want to lead a quieter life surrounded by animals.

Please contact Polly at: [removed]

EXPIRED

—————————————————————————————————-

Free Accommodation Around the World as a House or Pet Sitter! Join Now!

Please be careful when looking for jobs abroad on the internet. We advise you to research any employer before accepting a job offer. For more information see our Warnings, Safety and Spotting Scams page.

(290714)

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to our RSS feed!